Tata Indicom CDMA USB Modem.

Posted: January 2, 2009 in FOSS, Miscellaneous, Personal

After more than a year (since Nov 2007) without a personal Internet connection, I decided to finally go ahead and get myself a Tata Indicom CDMA based Internet connection.

The connection speed promised is upto 153.6 kbps ( with a disclaimer that the speed mentioned is subject to network conditions.)

This is how my /etc/wvdial.conf looks like.

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 230400
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2
Init3 = AT+CRM=1
Stupid Mode = 1
ISDN = 0
Modem Type = USB Modem
Phone = #777
Username = internet
Password = internet

The connection speeds is fairly slow with frequent packet drops all along. I am told that the network connection speeds do pick up during the night and non peek hours.

It serves the purpose of checking my emails, doing some research on the web and also for IRC though I find opening sites like YouTube extremely time consuming with this connection.

Comments
  1. Sachin G says:

    you should try MTNL triband, i have been a very satisfied customer. all you need to do is use pppoeconf to set it up once.

    • vivekvc says:

      I am now in Mumbai and the connection speeds seem to have picked up here. I had made this post while I was in my hometown Cochin (a few days back) where the Tata Indicom connection speed seems to be very slow and I was experiencing frequent packet losses. Here in Mumbai, I am not experiencing any packet losses. The Tata Indicom service seems to be decent in Mumbai as compared to Cochin 🙂

      Thanks for suggesting MTNL triband. I’ll try exploring that option sometime.

  2. Amber says:

    It was nice to see your blog.Just Keep Writing!

    ______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

  3. akhil says:

    i am using the same and i am well irritated by the downloading speed. i want this usb modem to be replaced or enhance in its speed.

  4. Prateek Mathur says:

    Even i have the same thing and in nagpur where i live,i get download speeds of around 15kbps from indian sites and around 8-10kbps from us sites.I have never tried it out in the nght time.If anyone of u have tried it then please discuss on this.

  5. Joseph John says:

    Can you check your entry in /etc/resolv.conf
    May be not correct DNS resolution is slowing the net

  6. nitant says:

    Could anyone tell me what is SMTP address for this usb internet service?

  7. harshada says:

    hi i hav tata indicom USB modem it works in Xp but i was trying it in windows 7 it gives me modem driver problem…can u pls giv me epivalley CDMA USB modem driver…

    • vivekvc says:

      Harshada, I don’t use Microsoft Windows and I don’t recommend you to use it either. Try using a sensible operating system like Ubuntu or one of the free *nixes available.

      I also am not in the business of supplying drivers, so you are asking the wrong person 🙂

  8. Sowjanya says:

    I am using tata indicom 1x usb modem. I have trouble with my DNS server settings. I am able to access internet only when i key in the IP of the site directly. Any idea on whom should I approach to get the correct DNS Server IP? (Call center failed to help)

  9. my tataindicom conction is very slow but before its working as per 230 kbps but stil now its working at 115 kbps….what i do..????

    • vivekvc says:

      What connection scheme have you taken ?.

      I don’t use Tata Indicom these days. I disconnected it sometime in May/June after I moved to Vashi Sector 14, New Bombay.

      I have a MTNL Triband 256 connection at home with a static I.P. Address these days.

  10. Ankur says:

    I purchased a tata indicom modem cdma 1x…
    I formatted my system and installed XP sp2 and now the modem is not connecting.
    It shows Error:721: Cannot connect to remote computer…
    Any one plz help me out….

  11. vivekvc says:

    Ankur, try contacting the TATA Indicom Showroom. They can guide you the best. I don’t use Microsoft Windows.

  12. mayavibalak says:

    hi guyz,
    can c many queries on Tata indicom usb modem
    i too bought this shit (153kbps) cause there r no better options here in roorkee… for last three days i ve been tweaking/modifying my OS ie XP. my initial dl speed was 2/3 kBps. Now after trying my hands on the tweaks i ve been able to get around 16-18kBps at times 20+. here r the links which helped me…..
    first goto…
    http://torrentspeedtest.com/torrent-speed-test.html

    before u run the speedtest for dl and ul speed, ensure ur net connection is idle ie no dl or ul is going on.

    note the results and then carry out the tweaks mentioned in these links.
    dont forget to check ur speed after every tweak. itz going to be tiresome but at the end u ll get results. a word of caution: Tweaking is risky so do it on ur own risk. follow every step religiously. before starting dont forget to create a restore point should a need arise to undo certain tweaks.

    http://www.tutzone.org/2008/10/increase-internet-speed-100-works.html

    http://www.tweakxp.com/article37934.aspx

    (tried the first two tweaks. havent checked the last one using cablenut.)

    all the best and happy netting….

  13. vivekvc says:

    The Tata Indicom CDMA based Internet connection I had a while back did
    not work in Vashi sector 14 from April to July (2009) for me and hence
    I did not bother to pay the bills for a service I never got. This connection
    did work on Ubuntu with heavy packet drops all along while I was staying in Mankhurd before moving to Vashi after my marriage in April.

    I could hardly access the Internet with the connection. On inquiring at the Vashi Showroom of Tata Indicom about why I was _not_ getting_any_ internet connectivity, I was told to upgrade to a Photon connection which did not support GNU/Linux.

    A few days back I came to know that Tata Indicom had sent a legal
    notice to my permanent residence address in Cochin threatening to sue
    me unless I pay approximately Rs 1800/- which according to Tata
    Indicom is the amount I have defaulted.

    I would never ever recommend Tata Indicom to anyone again, their
    connection speeds and service is horrible plus they consider suing
    their ex clients after giving horrible ( read no service at all) service.

    [ I had made this post initially to the FSF-Friends list and I am re-posting it here for the benefit of who ever stumbles upon my blog]

  14. sanjay says:

    Tata Idicom Driver modam

  15. nitin nikam says:

    9272789187 net imformtion

  16. Sarika says:

    Hi, am in Bangalore & i just took the Photon plus yesterday &i have activated it successfully, however am having trouble connecting to Internet service of tata. it is giving a error saying Error#721. i really want that to be fixed. does any body knows about it?

    it is irritating me like anything, because i have paid them &but am not getting the connection….. so i need it to be fixed.

    Help me please.

  17. Sarika says:

    for heaven’ sake any body help me with this Error#721…! am getting aggravated with this Tata Photon plus. just yesterday i purchased it & haven’t been able to use it yet. un-tolerable.

  18. Avani says:

    hi
    i m also having this problem of error 721….
    anyone plz help regarding this error..

    Thank you

  19. Rahul says:

    Hi,
    I’m trying to configure the tata modem for ubuntu, can you tell me how to do it ? … or perhaps you could guide me to a link which gives me the correct instructions … any help is appreciated … 🙂

  20. Pingenius says:

    Hi Sarika & Avani….
    You both have the same grievance. Error #721 is displayed when there’s no network coverage or very very low coverage where it is not possible to make a connection.
    This should help:—
    –> Control Panel
    –> Network Connections
    –> Right click on your Modem icon
    –> Properties
    –> General ( select ‘configure’ )
    –> Change the ‘maximum speed’ to the maximum in the drop down menu.

    Hope it helps.
    Best Regards…….
    PINGENIUS

  21. Enliniupt says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

  22. deepali says:

    hi
    i m also having this problem of error 721….
    anyone plz help regarding this error..

    Thank you

  23. hashmat says:

    can any of u give me a link for its driver……………..i lost the disk?????????

  24. Amit says:

    I am using Tata Indicom USB modem for internet. Problem is it that I can browse only for @10 minutes. After that my dilaer shows me that I am still connected but I can not open any of the webpages. Even I can’t ping them.
    Pls help me in fixing this problem

  25. duryodhan says:

    i have tata indicom usb modem .but no no work.i want to change tata indicom no. in this modem .is is possible?

  26. […] Tata Indicom CDMA USB Modem. | Wisdom Bytes:The journal … – Jan 02, 2009 · hi guyz, can c many queries on Tata indicom usb modem i too bought this shit (153kbps) cause there r no better options here in roorkee… for last three …… […]

  27. […] Tata Indicom CDMA USB Modem. | Wisdom Bytes:The … – Jan 02, 2009 · The Tata Indicom CDMA based Internet connection I had a while back did not work in Vashi sector 14 from April to July (2009) for me and hence I did not …… […]

  28. […] Tata Indicom CDMA USB Modem. | Wisdom Bytes:The journal … – Jan 02, 2009 · The Tata Indicom CDMA based Internet connection I had a while back did not work in Vashi sector 14 from April to July (2009) for me and hence I did not …… […]

  29. […] Tata Indicom CDMA USB Modem. | Wisdom Bytes:The … – Jan 02, 2009 · The Tata Indicom CDMA based Internet connection I had a while back did not work in Vashi sector 14 from April to July (2009) for me and hence I did not …… […]

  30. […] Tata Indicom CDMA USB Modem. | Wisdom … – 02/01/2009 · hi guyz, can c many queries on Tata indicom usb modem i too bought this shit (153kbps) cause there r no better options here in roorkee… for last three …… […]

Leave a Reply

